Fine cacao and chocolate products have proliferated in recent years, and at the same time concerned consumers have sought more education and transparency in relation to the food they eat. The development of meaningful and widespread standards for social and environmental responsibility is ongoing in the chocolate industry, and the Good Food Awards chocolate category recognizes those bean-to-bar makers who are leading the way, creating truly quality bars in every sense. View the full criteria for entry.

Click here to view the 2018 Finalists.


Sunita de Tourreil is the founder of The Chocolate Garage and is dedicated to curating craft chocolate and strengthening the cacao supply chain: focusing on the growers, makers and customers. Unique in the chocolate industry, The Chocolate Garage has cultivated an educated customer base, connected the top chocolate makers to their fans and made dozens of new bars possible via an innovative customer-funded model. She has also done hundreds of private and corporate tastings throughout the Bay Area, combining engaged education with tastings and pairings. Sunita has judged for the Good Food Awards and the Northwest Chocolate Festival. She speaks regularly about Happy Chocolate and the need for more transparency, including at Stanford, Harvard, MIT, World Bank and multiple years at the Northwest Chocolate Festival. Prior to deciding to work towards changing chocolate for the better, she could be found studying prions at UCSF. 

Chloe Doutre Roussel has been exploring the world of chocolate for more than 35 years, visiting plantations and production units, and collaborating with experts in various fields. She is committed to meeting the people behind the products to learn their stories, values and visions, and to relentlessly analyzing processes, marketing, trends and development strategies. Chloé is a former buyer at Fortnum and Mason, shop manager at Ladurée, author of The Chocolate Connoisseur and creator of Chloé Chocolat in Paris. She has also worked with El Ceibo, a co-operative of cocoa farmers in Bolivia, to develop the first range of gourmet chocolate for export wholly produced by the cocoa growers. She gives classses, conferences and consultancies worldwide on cacao quality, bean to bar production and marketing on fine cacao and chocolate. Chloé is a regular juror at the Northwest Chocolate Festival and in different cacao growing countries. She is member of honor of the AOC, founding member of the Academia del Chocolate of Ecuador, a member of the Advisory Board of the Fine Chocolate Industry Association (FCIA) and board member of the Fine Cacao and Chocolate Institute (FCCI).

Carla D. Martin, PhD, is the Founder and Executive Director of the Fine Cacao and Chocolate Institute and a Lecturer in the Department of African and African American Studies at Harvard University. Carla is a social anthropologist whose current research focuses on ethics, quality and politics in cacao and chocolate and draws on several years of domestic and international ethnographic experience. Find her online at and @carladmartin.
David Salowich (Chair Emeritus), Chocolate Buyer & Retail Manager, Bittersweet Café


Bill Addison, Restaurant Editor, Eater
Sarah Jane Evans, MW, Journalist; Committee Member, Academy of Chocolate; Co-Chairman, Decanter World Wine Awards
Karine Guillemette, Chocolate Educator, Miss Choco
Hazel Lee, Chocolate Consultant, Devoted to Fine Chocolate

With Special Thanks To:

Valerie Beck, Founder & CEO, Chocolate Uplift


Brian Beyke, Marketing & Communications, Quills Coffee & Host, I Brew My Own Coffee
Romi Burks, Professor, Southwestern University
Chris Colohan, Engineer & Chocolate Enthusiast
Patricia Darragh, Executive Director, California Olive Oil Council
Anjuli Dharna, Senior Account Manager, Joyride Coffee SF 
Jessica Ferraro, Founder, Bar Cacao
Guilianna Zamora Glassman, Owner & Founder, Alma Superfoods
Susan Goodhue
David Gouldin, Software Engineer, Clara Labs
Megan Hile, Chocolatier, Madison Chocolate Company
Kaleb Houston, Red Bay Coffee, former Director of Coffee
Ruth Kennison
, Chocolatier & Chocolate Educator,
The Chocolate Project
Adam Scott Krantz, Founder & Chocolate Maker, Monsoon Chocolate
Kai Kronfield, Owner & Chocolatier, Nosh This
Karyn Lipman, Project Manager, Analyst, UC Davis
Kate Munden-Dixon, PhD Candidate, UC Davis
Mayra Orellana-Powell, Founder, Catracha Coffee Company
Rosi Quiñones, Quality Control & Certification Specialist, Royal Coffee
Anthony Rue, Owner, Volta Coffee, Tea & Chocolate
Akaash Saini, Community Engagement Manager, Equator Coffees & Teas
Andrew Schiff, Owner & Chef, Oak & Fig Baking
Amber Turpin, Freelance Food & Travel Writer, Civil Eats & Edible Magazine
Sara Trikenskas, Pastry Chef & Former Chocolate Maker, Ritz-Carlton St. Louis
Madeline Weeks, PhD Student, UC Davis
Erin Welke, Publicity Manager, Ten Speed Press
Brian Wood, Owner & Founder, Starter Bakery
Melanie Wong, Dedicated Eater,